top of page

Review of Coyote Ugly (2000)

Coyote Ugly (2000) directed by David McNally is pretty much the greatest feel-good movie of all time. The cast is amazing, the plot is iconic and the soundtrack is without a doubt one of the greatest movie soundtracks ever, and if you disagree I’m afraid you’re mistaken.

To be honest though, I really love this movie but personally I don’t find the plot particularly intriguing or, for that matter, interesting (despite how iconic and memorable it may be). However it is still somehow an amazing movie that will forever and always have a place in my heart. The characters are interesting and well characterised, with lives and problems I care about almost more than the lives of people I know in real life. Coyote Ugly provides this kind of feminist insight into the sexualised women behind the gritty downtown bar and presents this kind of mild manipulation of drunk men to benefit their work. I am just a sucker for this kind of film, with strong independent women who do things for themselves and look out for each other.

Also, the romantic storyline was incredibly cliché (if you’re into that kind of thing) and wonderfully written. I tend to shy away from romantic storylines when they try to take themselves too seriously. Personally for me though, Coyote Ugly possesses the perfect amount of romance to contrast with the drama and comedy of the movie. It isn’t so romantic that it risks seeming boring, and it isn’t so funny that you can’t appreciate the seriousness of the film. It’s just a really fun, moving and enjoyable film.

Honestly, if you are looking to watch a casual, feel-good film, I couldn’t recommend anything other than Coyote Ugly. The only way I could possibly think of improving this film is if the romantic storyline were gay, but generally I feel that way about most films with a male/female romance so that is hardly a criticism of Coyote Ugly itself.

Single post: Blog_Single_Post_Widget
bottom of page